Daily Archives: January 31, 2012

More birthdays!!

January is a big month for my family. There are birthdays just about every week! For those that don’t believe me, here’s the evidence:

There were times in my childhood when I felt a little left out being the only non-January birthday in my family, but then I also loved being the special one that got my own birthday month :) Now that January is coming to a close, it’s time to celebrate the birthdays of both my mom and my grandpa.

My mom is a remarkable woman and I am so thankful for all she has taught me through her words and actions. She is one of the most patient people I know and puts this trait of hers to good use everyday from tolerating the antics of my dad, my brother and myself to her twelve hours shifts as a labor and delivery nurse. She’s great at what she does and puts 100% into every aspect of her job at the hospital. It’s no surprise to me at all that patients will send my mom thank you cards for being such an attentive, calm and encouraging nurse. My mom is also one of the most selfless people I know, always thinking of others first before even considering her own needs. I am also thankful that while growing up, my mom always placed such emphasis on the importance of education, from making sure my brother and I did well in school to completing her own education and going to nursing school while my brother and I were very young. Thanks, mom, for showing us the value of hard work, for showing us the importance of working with integrity, for being cheesy and using emoticons at the end of every email :), for spoiling us with our favorite meals whenever we come home to Tucson, for your endless help during our year of wedding planning, for always being a ready ear and adviser and for being one of the best shopping buddies I could have asked for (hello, Anthropologie!!). Now, similarly to the post for my brother’s and dad’s birthdays, here are some of my favorite pictures of my mom! Happy birthday, momma bear!!

In Peru!

Macchu Picchu!

My parents on their 20th anniversary five years ago

With momma bear

My mom helping me get ready for my wedding

Today is extra special in that it is also my maternal grandfather’s birthday. He’s the only grandfather I’ve known and has been a part of so many childhood memories of mine. I’ll always remember going over to their house everyday growing up and being able to count on his afternoon habit of making Cuban coffee (in the same little espresso maker he’s had my whole life). There would always be the sound of dominoes on a table at family events with my Tata being particular about the way the dominoes were shuffled between games. My grandparents always had Cookie Crisp cereal for us at their house and my Tata loved nothing more than to offer us this with ice cream for breakfast (super nutritious, right?). Growing up, we could always count on my grandpa to give us any needed batteries for toys as he had quite the collection in his office closet. Most recently, my grandpa was a part of our wedding. During the lighting of our unity candle during our wedding ceremony, he sang the Ave Maria just like he had at my older cousin’s wedding several years ago and at my parent’s wedding 25 years ago. It was such a special moment and one I’ll always treasure. Here are a few of my favorite pictures with my Tata from our wedding day. Happy birthday, Tata!!

Singing the Ave Maria at our wedding

Salsa dancing with my grandpa at our wedding :)