My little brother is not so little anymore

One of my favorite childhood pictures

I love my brother, Alejandro (Alex). I’m so grateful that he’s been one of my oldest childhood friends, a brother I have always been able to count on to make me laugh and always feel encouraged. I was three years old when he was born and was so excited to have a baby brother. According to my parents, I thought this newborn (whom I had dubbed “el gordo”) was my baby. I thought he was the coolest little boy and wanted to be with him at all times. While my brother had his own made up language of different grunts at first, I was always able to understand him.

I do have to admit that my brother did have a bit of a bratty phase for part of his early childhood (Alex, you know what I’m talking about and it definitely has something to do with my NSYNC CD’s ending up in the trash…). Luckily it  was short lived and we were able to get past that obnoxious period :) I have a lot of great memories of growing up with my brother and in honor of his 21st birthday today, here are a few of my favorites:

  • Playing our made up bowling game “Knocking Down Toys”
  • Trying to teach him NSYNC choreography and getting frustrated along the way
  • Making obstacle courses for him in our backyard on our childhood swing set

    Swing set time!

  • Playing “the quiet game,” just so he would stop talking for a few minutes :)
  • His creative imagination growing up; one minute he would be Brett Favre in his Green Bay Packers uniform (complete with jersey, yellow pants and helmet) and the next minute he would be a ninja in the backyard

    Power Ranger Time

  • Alex being a trooper and coming to all of my piano recitals (he did fall asleep during some of the first recitals)
  • Playing baseball in the backyard together and going to Arizona Diamondback games in the summer

    Diamondbacks Game

  • Coming along on the family trip to go visit Trinity my sophomore year in high school; my mom made him wear brand new jeans and with the day of constant rain, the dye rubbed off on him and gave his legs a blue tint
  • Alex jokingly getting mad at me for getting married before he turned 21, meaning he couldn’t drink at our wedding (ha!)

As I said, today is my brother’s 21st birthday. Ever since his 13th birthday, I’ve been in denial about my baby brother growing up and it took me a while to stop seeing him as a 12 year old, even while he turned 16, 18 and now 21 while in his junior year at Creighton University. Alex, consider it a success that I will now just think of you as my younger brother, instead of my baby brother :) I love you, hermano! Happy 21st birthday!!!

3 thoughts on “My little brother is not so little anymore

  1. Yadira

    I laughed then cried then laughed some more as I read your post honoring Ale’s 21st birthday. What great memories! How blessed this mamma bear feels today.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: More birthdays!! « the nance familia

Leave a Reply

