Christmas 2014

Eleven days into January is the right time to post pictures from Christmas, right? Right.

We had a great Christmas in Tucson. We started the drive once Chip got off of work on the 23rd, spent the night in Van Horn, and got to Tucson Christmas Eve afternoon. The dogs did great on the drive with plenty of “are we there yet” faces from Wrigley.

Not sharing my Whataburger dinner with Wrigley

Not sharing my Whataburger dinner with Wrigley

Are we there yet...

Are we there yet…

Leaving Van Horn Christmas Eve morning

Leaving Van Horn Christmas Eve morning

And now for a special presentation, Molly and Wrigley singing along to “Blue Christmas.”

Overall, it was a really relaxing time at home. After a busy December, it was nice to get time to sleep in, take it easy around the house, walk the dogs, and just spend time together. I’m a sucker for being sentimental, and looking back, I love the little moments throughout the trip that reminded me of some of my favorite memories growing up. Whenever I can go home for Christmas, my parents always save Santa’s Marching Band as my decoration to put up in the house. I was obsessed with Santa’s Marching Band as a kid and would slowly put each little soldier on the snow blanket and do my best to hide the electric chords. Some of these little guys have taken a beating over the years and will occasionally get stuck, but they still work great. I secretly love seeing how long I can have these guys play before my dad tries to turn them off.

We were able to take Chip up to Mount Lemmon for the first time and were pleasantly surprised to see some snow at the end of our drive. I hadn’t been up to Mount Lemmon in over seven years, so it was fun going back up. Molly and Penny weren’t too sure about the snow, but Wrigley loved it, even when Chip kept throwing snowballs at his face. Later that day, we got to see some of my old high school friends, most of whom Chip was meeting for the first time. It was a highlight of the trip getting to catch up with them, some I literally hadn’t seen since graduation almost 10 years ago. And to my surprise, while we were eating at Le Buzz our last morning in Tucson, I ran into my third grade teacher. It was so nice to see her again and funny to think about how she used to seem so incredibly tall to me.

They're adorbs.

They’re adorbs.

Christmas Eve

Christmas Eve

Wrigley's serious about Christmas

Wrigley’s serious about Christmas

Christmas Eve

Christmas Eve

One of the best parts of our Christmas Eve dinner: prosciutto wrapped asparagus

One of the best parts of our Christmas Eve dinner: prosciutto wrapped asparagus

Love my goofy dad

Love my goofy dad

We found one of my childhood Christmas lists... and laughed for a long time after reading it

We found one of my childhood Christmas lists… and laughed for a long time after reading it

Looking at on old card Alex made. You're an artist, bud.

Looking at on old card Alex made. You’re an artist, bud.

Wrigley wanted to help unwrap gifts Christmas morning

Wrigley wanted to help unwrap gifts Christmas morning

Christmas morning

Christmas morning

The Nances Christmas morning

The Nances on Christmas morning

Wrigley was much happier with just me in the picture

Wrigley was much happier with just me in the picture

Quick stop on the drive up to Mount Lemmon

Quick stop on the drive up to Mount Lemmon

Molly wasn't too sure about the snow

Molly wasn’t too sure about the snow

Quick stop on the drive to Mount Lemmon

Quick stop on the drive to Mount Lemmon

Penny is my dad's loyal sidekick

Penny is my dad’s loyal sidekick

Our view of Tucson

Our view of Tucson

Yes, Wrigley. It's all yours.

Yes, Wrigley. It’s all yours.

Sweet Molly

Sweet Molly

The snow was too cold for Penny

The snow was too cold for Penny

Love these pups

Love these pups

Enjoying Mt. Lemmon

Enjoying Mt. Lemmon

Molly ate some snow

Molly ate some snow

Wrigley liked eating snowballs

Wrigley liked eating snowballs

Chip loved smashing snowballs on Wrigley's head

Chip loved smashing snowballs on Wrigley’s head

The little snowman Chip and my dad built

The little snowman Chip and my dad built

I am so thankful we were able to spend some more time in Tucson, we really do love that city. Chip was back to work that Monday after Christmas while I had a few extra days off. We spent New Years Eve with some of our great Trinity friends out in Fredericksburg. It was so great ending 2014 with some of the friends we love most. Hope 2015 is off to a great start for all of you!

New Year's Eve dinner

New Year’s Eve dinner

New Year's Eve

New Year’s Eve

Getting our grapes ready for midnight... it's good luck to eat 12 grapes for the new year!

Getting our grapes ready for midnight… it’s good luck to eat 12 grapes for the new year!

Our own kickline to "New York, New York"

Our own kickline to “New York, New York”

Cheers to 2015!

Cheers to 2015!

3 thoughts on “Christmas 2014

Leave a Reply

