Three Year Anniversary

Yesterday marked three years since I married this guy:

My groom

My groom

Hands down one of the best decisions I’ve ever made.

Traditionally, the third year is considered the leather anniversary. Seems kind of weird, but we were given a description of what this means and I just love it.

The third wedding anniversary is often when a couple is aware of the durability of their relationship. That is why leather is the traditional gift for this celebration. Leather is a material that is durable, warm, strong, flexible, and has a sense of resiliency to it. These are qualities that help a marriage thrive.

Reading this description had us thinking about this past year of marriage. Our first year was fun and full of us figuring out daily life together. Our second year helped us grow closer together and deepened our marriage. But this third year has been our favorite. We don’t feel like newlyweds anymore, we feel more and more like a team. Together, we accomplished and got through a lot this past year. Chip passed the final level of the CFA giving us so much more time together this spring and will surely help us in the future. We were able to go on a bunch of different trips together. We did more projects around the house and remodeled our bathroom with the help of our families. When I decided to leave my job in November, Chip was my biggest supporter and has been so excited for me in this time off. We celebrated our birthdays, the holiday season, friends’ weddings, and so much more together. We like to think that we did become more resilient this year and continue to build a strong foundation for all of our years to come.

For our anniversary, Chip surprised me with a homemade breakfast yesterday. I slept through his alarm and didn’t even notice him getting out of our bedroom (it takes me a bit to transform from a zombie to a functioning human being). I heard our front door open a couple times and honestly thought that maybe he had left for work without saying goodbye (note: he never does that, so not sure why I even thought this was possible). Anyway, I saw that it was only 7:00 and was curious what Chip could be doing that was making so much noise. Y’all. I came out into our kitchen to see him preparing a feast of French toast, scrambled eggs, and fruit. He had even set out our wedding china for us to eat outside together. My heart was so full (and soon so was my stomach).

Was so surprised to see our patio table set like this!

Was so surprised to see our patio table set like this!

Who doesn't love fresh flowers

Who doesn’t love fresh flowers

My only contribution to breakfast: slicing the strawberries

My only contribution to breakfast: slicing the strawberries

I love that our first time using our crystal glasses was to drink some OJ

I love that our first time using our crystal glasses was to drink some OJ

Can we have breakfast like this everyday?

Can we have breakfast like this everyday?

The rest of the day wasn’t as exciting, I took Wrigley for a walk and then quickly went to the gym to try to save myself from that French toast making its way to my hips. I also had a dentist appointment in the afternoon. Talk about living the wild life, right?

For dinner, we decided to go to one of our favorite restaurants to celebrate: Dough. We just can’t get enough of this place. Their food is amazing and we love how much fun we have every time we go there. We also went there waaaay back for our first anniversary.

Wine from our two year anniversary trip to Napa

Wine from our two year anniversary trip to Napa

I could eat this pizza everyday

I could eat this pizza everyday

Three years!

Three years!

Chip, thanks for being you. Thank you for loving me even when I don’t make it easy, for all the ways you make me laugh, for helping me grow, for comforting me whenever I’m upset, for always pointing me back to Christ, for all the ways you love Wrigley, for doing life together. Here’s to many more years ahead.

May 7, 2011

May 7, 2011

2 thoughts on “Three Year Anniversary

  1. rmpomeroy

    My heart is full just reading this! What a beautiful 3 years y’all have had together so far – wishing you many more to come!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

