Thoughts on blogging

Hello, friends. It’s been a while. Almost a month, to be exact. I really didn’t intend to take such a long break from blogging, but in hindsight, I’m glad it happened. When I first left my job back in the middle of November, I was excited about having more time to blog. I would write down ideas for new posts, think about different images and gifs that I could incorporate to add some color to what I was sharing. And then like many other projects, I turned it into a task that defined me. How long has this draft been sitting around before I finally hit the “publish” button? Did I include enough links? Did I sound funny enough? Smart enough? Gracious enough? How many views did this post get over the last one? I would look at other blogs and think “Hmm maybe I should start a series on that…” or try to sound as witty/smart/whatever adjective. It was as if what I wanted to share was never enough, I had to follow someone’s model.

And that’s when it hit me. I was no longer using this blog as I had originally intended. When I first started this blog a couple of years ago, it was primarily to help stay in touch with friends and family while Chip and I make a life for ourselves here in San Antonio. And in my perfectionist, performing ways, I had turned something good and fun into something that had to define me in some way. But a blog will never define me. Only my position as Christ’s daughter can define me.

I’m thankful I have been able to take a step back and re-evaluate why I share what I have on this blog. It’s not to impress anyone or to have people think highly of me. It’s to share little moments from our everyday life. Thanks for reading, friends.

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on blogging

  1. rmpomeroy

    Lovely to hear your voice again – look forward to catching up soon and hearing all about those little, everyday life moments!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

