Saving Mr. Captain Phillips Survivor American Hustle Osage County

Awards season season is upon us. And for the first time in a while, there are a ton of movies that Chip and I want to see. I mean a ton. I’m not sure why, but we just don’t go to the movies that often. Alright, it’s probably mostly my fault, I can get a little stingy about paying $20 for us to go see a movie. I mean, $20? Are you serious? For that reason, up until last weekend, the last movie we had seen was The Hunger Games: Catching Fire over Thanksgiving weekend. Last Saturday, we were debating which movie to go see and eventually decided to go see Saving Mr. Banks. It was wonderful. I laughed and cried at different parts of this bittersweet movie and was so impressed by the acting (and yet no Oscar nominations, hmm? Come on, Hollywood). It’s going to take us a while to get through our list, but we’ll eventually get through it (when will these hit the dollar theater? Do those still exist?). Which movies do you recommend we go see?

After hearing this year’s Oscar nominations yesterday, I think we may also need to add Blue Jasmine, 12 Years a Slave, and Her to the list. And Chip thinks Ride Along looks hilarious, so we’ll see on that one (or wait until it comes out on Netflix…).

Happy Friday, everyone!

4 thoughts on “Saving Mr. Captain Phillips Survivor American Hustle Osage County

  1. Barbara harrison

    Captain Phillips is excellent as is The Nook Theif! American Hustle was good as well. Blue Jasmine is a typical Woody Allen movie. I saw it over Christmas with extended family. Some liked it some didn’t. I think it’s worth seeing…
    My brother said 12 Years A Slave was great!
    I haven’t seen the others. HAPPY MOVIE WATCHING!

    Reply
  2. rmpomeroy

    I am every bit behind on the movie list as you are!! I haven’t seen any of the ones you mentioned here, but they’re all on our list too! Unfortunately we still have a list on our refrigerator of movies from LAST year’s nominations, many of which we still haven’t seen! Good thing they’re not going anywhere… :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

