Sorry, Frosty

I recently wrote about how much I love Christmas music. Well, I have a confession to make… even though I could listen to Christmas music non-stop (which I have been for the past month and a half…), there are some songs that I honestly cannot stand. If these songs come on my Pandora stations, they are sure to get a thumbs down. Or if they come on the radio, I will either quickly pull up my Pandora app on my phone or if I’m in my car I’ll put in my Garibaldi Christmas CD or just halfheartedly sing along. I know. So terrible. I’m slightly ashamed.

 So which songs get under my skin? At the top of the list is “Frosty the Snowman.” Does that make me a grinch? I think part of it is because I never learned this story/song as a child past “Frosty the Snoman was a jolly happy soul….”, and another part is that to me this song has nothing to do with Christmas (is Frosty here just because he’s made of snow?). While I know the lyrics now as an adult, I just don’t have any interest in it. Sorry, Frosty, I don’t think we can be friends.

Another one that I really can’t stand is “Grandma Got Run Over by  a Reindeer.” I mean, really? How is this a Christmas song? Thankfully I will hear this song only a few times a year, guess it just isn’t a popular song request (can’t imagine why…). I also struggle with “I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Clause.” I guess it’s cute-ish in theory, but definitely not my favorite. Pretty much the only version I will listen to is by the Jackson 5. Little MJ has some awesome Christmas music.

Now, my next one isn’t necessarily a specific song but anything by The Carpenters. I can’t take it. Everything they sing sounds so…. meh. Do they intentionally sing every song slower than normal? I will literally roll my eyes whenever their songs come on my Christmas stations and try to hit the skip button as quickly as possible.

One last song that just doesn’t do it for me is “Silver Bells.” For some reason I’ve just never been a fan of this tune.

Sigh… I feel so much better getting this off my chest. Are there any Christmas songs you could do without?

3 thoughts on “Sorry, Frosty

  1. Sarah

    Please give a thumbs down to Alvin and the Chipmunks, Elvis singing I’lll have a bluuuueeee Christmas….., and the over played Feliz Navidad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

