Thankful For: Travel

As I mentioned yesterday, I’m trying to take time this week to consciously consider what I am thankful for and share it with you all. I would also love to hear from you on what you’re reflecting on this week, so please share in the comments!

When I first thought about what I’m thankful for, I realized how much is equipped by travel. This thankfulness works two fold: on the one hand, it allows us to see friends and family that live outside of the great state of Texas, and on the other hand also lets us to see new places for the first time, which is something we really enjoy.

Sometimes it can be really hard not having family in town or having some of our good friends live so far away. If we weren’t able to hop on a plane or get in a car for a road trip, there is so much that we would miss out on in the lives of those we love. I’m grateful that this year we have traveled far more than we had ever anticipated. It allowed us to go to our friends’ wedding in Nashville and be part of their special day. We were able to attend my brother’s college graduation which was so wonderful to see. We were able to go to Rochester for my cousin Denisse’s daughter’s baptism, which meant meeting precious little Daniella and getting to spend time with my goddaughter Isabella. We were able to share sweet time with my family during trips to Boston and Maine. Chip and I were able to explore Nantucket and San Francisco on our own during work and anniversary trips. Just this past weekend we were able to go to Denver to visit my brother as well as one of my closest college friends (stay tuned for a post on that trip!). I’m thankful that we live in a time where travel is as advanced as it is; let’s be real, if we were still in the Oregon trail days, we really wouldn’t be able to see anyone past Boerne. 

Riley and Becca's wedding in Tennessee

Riley and Becca’s wedding in Tennessee

Alex's graduation from Creighton

Alex’s graduation from Creighton

With Daniella after her baptism

With Daniella after her baptism

With my aunt, mom, Daniella, and goddaughter Isabella

With my aunt, mom, Daniella, and goddaughter Isabella

With Chip in Nantucket

With Chip in Nantucket

In Boston with my family

In Boston with my family

In Maine with my parents

In Maine with my parents

In Napa during our trip to San Francisco

In Napa during our trip to San Francisco

With Alex and Teresa in Boulder

With Alex and Teresa in Boulder

With Rachel in Denver

With Rachel in Denver

So today, I am thankful that we have been able to visit so many dear people as well as see new places together. Here’s to visiting more new places next year and continuing to visit loved ones wherever they may be!

Source

8 thoughts on “Thankful For: Travel

  1. Adria

    I’m watching the snow fall having a cup of tea, and I find myself with happy tears in my eyes reading your blog. These are very happy tears as I see how you embrace your family, friends, and LIFE. You have and continue to make me very proud of the way you live life. Love the pictures you have posted showing where and all you did with family and friends.
    That brings me to say that I’m very thankful for all that I have today. So thankful for my wonderful husband, daughter, son-in-law(love him like a son) and the most beautiful granddaughters! Thankful for my entire family near and far, for my friends most of all thankful that God has given us all many wonderful moments in life that will stay in our hearts always. May God Bless us all!

    Reply
  2. Yadira

    Thank goodness that we can be anywhere in a matter of hours with air travel!
    I am thankful for the love I receive from my family, friends and most importantly from God. I am very blessed indeed :)

    Reply
  3. rmpomeroy

    When I was browsing Etsy for maps to put in the guest room, I saw one that said “It doesn’t matter where you’re going, it’s who you have beside you.” I know I always have much more fun when I get to travel with Mark than when I travel alone, and I’m so glad you and Chip were able to go on so many adventures together this year!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Weekend in Denver | the nance familia

  5. Pingback: Three Year Anniversary | the nance familia

Leave a Reply

