Maine: Part One

After our busy days in Boston, we were ready to take things a little slow in Maine. As I mentioned in my last post, we got into Portland, Maine on Sunday afternoon. We got Monday started with a delicious breakfast there at the inn. We had eggs cooked in pieces of ham, while the neighbor came over to play the piano and treated us to a few tunes from Les Mis. Now that’s my kind of breakfast. Once we were done eating, my parents were off to visit the supplier my dad has worked with for a while while Chip and I set out to walk around town. We thought about taking a ferry to a nearby island based on recommendations from the staff at our bed and breakfast, but the weather was pretty drizzly and we wanted to check out what Portland was all about.

Breakfast at the Inn on Carleton

Breakfast at the Inn on Carleton

Off to walk around Portland

Off to walk around Portland

Found our Christmas tree for this year

Found our Christmas tree for this year

Cute little store in Portland...

Cute little store in Portland…

... with a cute little guard dog

… with a cute little guard dog

Maine: the land of Subarus (really though, just about every other car was a Subaru)

Maine: the land of Subarus (really though, just about every other car was a Subaru)

After a couple of hours, we decided to head back to the inn. Is it pathetic that I felt like I needed a nap after that great breakfast and walking a few miles? #vacationproblems My parents got back around lunch time, so we met up with them before heading out to our city and lighthouse tour for the afternoon. We realized on our tour that we had just missed some of the really cute shop-filled streets on our morning walk, but I’d like to think our bank account benefited from our mindless wandering.

Before our afternoon tour

Before our afternoon tour

My parents are pretty cool

My parents are pretty cool

The best part to the tour was definitely getting to see the lighthouse in Cape Elizabeth. A storm was starting to roll in, so it was really cool to see the lighthouse with stormy clouds behind it.

Portland Head Lighthouse in Cape Elizabeth

Portland Head Lighthouse in Cape Elizabeth

My parents at Cape Elizabeth

My parents at Cape Elizabeth

In front of the Portland Head Lighthouse

In front of the Portland Head Lighthouse

Skies starting to clear up

Skies starting to clear up

My dad checking out the lighthouse bell

My dad checking out the lighthouse bell

By the time our tour was over, we had about an hour before our next excursion: sailing through Casco Bay with the Portland Schooner Co. I was a little worried that our sailing would get cancelled with the rain, but the skies cleared up just in time. Before heading down to the harbor, we stopped by Aurora Provisions to get some cheese, bread, and chocolate to go with the wine we had brought with us.

I’ve never been sailing before, so I was so excited to be doing this during our time in Maine. We were on the same boat as a few other people, but otherwise it was a small group, which was really nice. The weather was perfect and we had a good amount of wind to keep us moving for the two hours we were out sailing.

Boats ready to sail

Boats ready to sail

My parents on our sailboat

My parents on our sailboat

Quick photo before the captain got on the boat

Quick photo before the captain got on the boat

The Wendameen

The Wendameen

Raising the sails

Raising the sails

Asking the captain questions

Asking the captain questions

Our view from the boat

Our view from the boat

So windy!

So windy!

Sailing past Fort Gorges

Sailing past Fort Gorges

The family that sails together stays together

The family that sails together stays together

One thing we weren't expecting: the crazy tilt from the sails. We got used to this, but my mom stayed glued to her seat with a death grip on the bench.

One thing we weren’t expecting: the crazy tilt from the sails. We got used to this, but my mom stayed glued to her seat with a death grip on the bench.

Snack time

Snack time

Cheers!

Cheers!

Yum.

Yum.

My dad in his element

My dad in his element

With my dad

With my dad

Just missing Alex!

Just missing Alex!

Sailing in Casco Bay

Sailing in Casco Bay

Ready to watch the sunset

Ready to watch the sunset

I love this guy (also, please note my mom in her seat in the background)

I love this guy (also, please note my mom in her seat in the background)

"I'm flying!"

“I’m flying!”

Captain Morgan

Captain Morgan

Awesome sunset

Awesome sunset

America the beautiful

America the beautiful

Sunset in Casco Bay

Sunset in Casco Bay

After our great sailing trip, we were all pretty hungry for dinner. While in a little store earlier in the day, the owner had recommended we go try out Street and Co. for dinner. I was a little skeptical at first and wondered if she just knew the owner or something, but after looking it up on TripAdvisor, we decided to check this place out for dinner. We all wanted lobster, and Street and Co. definitely delivered. Looking at all of the meals we had during this trip, I would put this one near the top of the list.

Got lobstah?

Got lobstah?

Dinner domination

Dinner domination

Mummy and daddy

Mummy and daddy

We decided to have dessert there at Street and Co. since the food had been so good (and it was way too cold to walk to get dessert somewhere else) so we ended our Monday in Maine with some blueberry pie and panna cotta.

Stay tuned for one more post on our last day in Maine!

5 thoughts on “Maine: Part One

  1. Yadira

    Sure enjoyed our sail of Casco Bay even if I never moved for fear of landing in the water with that wind! I put up one of your pictures of Portland Head Lighthouse in our home. Can’t wait to show you.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Thankful For: Travel | the nance familia

  3. Pingback: Things I Love: Christmas Ornaments | the nance familia

  4. Pingback: Minestrone Soup | the nance familia

Leave a Reply

