Last few days in Nantucket

After our great, easy-going weekend in Nantucket, our last few days flew by a bit quicker. Between Chip being out during the day as well as a couple of the evenings for his conference and my work schedule working from the hotel, I’m really glad we flew in early and had Saturday and Sunday to fully explore the island.

We went and had breakfast at a new place Monday morning. As much as we loved Black Eyed Susans on Sunday, we thought we should try a different spot. We had seen Fog Island Cafe while walking around throughout the weekend and thought their window display looked pretty good so we made this our spot Monday morning. The breakfast was great, but our hearts were still at Black Eyed Susans, so we decided to try to go there again before we left.

I spent the rest of the day working while Chip got checked in for the conference and did some reading to get ready for the next couple of days. I have to say, The Century House was a pretty good spot to work from. Check out the view I had while answering emails on the patio!

My temporary office

My temporary office

Plus, they make fresh chocolate chip cookies every afternoon. If you know me, you know a good cookie is pretty much all I need to be happy.

More cookies, please

More cookies, please

Tuesday, I went to Black Eyed Susans by myself while Chip had an early start to the conference. I felt a little bad for going without Chip, but then I had a great vegetarian scramble that made me forget all about that guilt. Sorry, Chip, but that food was really good! After breakfast, I made a quick stop at Petticoat Row Bakery before heading back to The Century House to work for the day. After all the reviews I had read online about this bakery, I was ready to be impressed… and all I can say is that the double chocolate chip cookie I got there was one of the best cookies I’ve ever had (and trust me, I’ve had a lot of cookies in my life).

Talk about a cute bakery

Talk about a cute bakery

When will cookies be as healthy as fruits and veggies?

When will cookies be as healthy as fruits and veggies?

Tuesday evening, we went to the conference’s clam bake over at Jetties Beach. Unfortunately it started to rain during the afternoon, so the clam bake got moved to under a tent. It was a great atmosphere despite the weather and we had a really good time getting to know some of the other analysts also at the conference and their wives. We had to leave the clam bake a little early for some dinner reservations we had at Corazón del Mar, so we only had time for some clam chowder before it was time to head out. We thought about canceling our reservations, but I’m so glad we didn’t because it turned out to be our best dinner in Nantucket.

Conference clam bake

Conference clam bake

Corazón del Mar is another restaurant we had found on TripAdvisor and the reviews did not disappoint. The vibe at the restaurant is extremely fun, with a ceviche bar on the first floor and a tequila bar on the second. We had a table on the second floor and had our best dinner in Nantucket, thanks to our great server Kendra. She walked us through the menu and pointed out all her favorite dishes. We started dinner off with an appetizer of cured pork shoulder with goat cheese and some drinks (pisco sour for me! Viva Chile!). Our appetizer was delicious, so we knew the rest of the meal was going to be a treat. I ordered a paella dish, Chip got carnitas, and we split a side of grilled Mexican street corn which was ah-mazing. Seriously. Pretty sure that corn was my favorite part of the meal. Since dinner had been so good, we decided to finish the meal off with some churros and chocolate for dessert. #winning.

We’re pretty convinced that everything from the Corazón del Mar tastes great. What we loved most about this place the most was how extremely flavorful all of their food was. While we had great dinners the other nights, these dishes were pretty complex and each had really bold taste (but in a good way!). Thanks again to Kendra for all of her great recommendations and for treating us to some free sampler drinks!

Corazón del Mar

Corazón del Mar

Pisco sour at Corazón del Mar

Pisco sour at Corazón del Mar

Drinks from our server, Kendra

Drinks from our server, Kendra

After dinner at Corazón del Mar

After dinner at Corazón del Mar

Wednesday was our last full day in Nantucket. Chip was pretty jealous about my solo trip to Black Eyed Susans the day before, so we went there together early Wednesday morning and had our Portuguese scrambler one last time. I went back to the hotel to work and Chip went to the conference for the rest of the day. He had a dinner to go to later in the evening, so we quickly met for drinks and appetizers at Dune. While the food there was flavorful and light, I would have liked a bigger menu to select from. But maybe I had just become a food snob throughout our time in Nantucket.

Thursday morning we were off to an early start with a full travel day ahead of us: a 7:45 ferry to Hyannis, a 9:30 bus to Boston and then a couple of flights before getting back home to San Antonio late in the evening, just in time to catch the end of the Spurs game. Again, I won’t go into detail on the game results… maybe next year?

We had such a great time in Nantucket! If anyone is looking for a quiet, relaxing vacation with the opportunity to spend lots of time outside, you really can’t beat this spot.

3 thoughts on “Last few days in Nantucket

  1. Pingback: Thankful For: Travel | the nance familia

  2. Pingback: Last Day in Nantucket | the nance familia

Leave a Reply

