Alex’s Creighton Graduation

This past weekend, my little brother graduated from college. I know, I’m still trying to wrap my head around this as well. This kid…

Throwback Thursday

Throwback Thursday

…is now a college graduate. Pretty awesome, right?

Alex completed his undergrad degree at Creighton University in Omaha. So last Friday morning, Chip and I flew out to Nebraska to join my parents and grandmother as we got ready to celebrate my brother. We spent a lot of time hanging out together Friday afternoon before having a belated Mother’s Day dinner that evening. We went to 801 Chophouse for dinner and thanks to our awesome waiter Lloyd, we ate like kings. I’m talking appetizers of crab cakes, mussels, lobster corn dogs (yes, you read that right and, yes, they were delicious), and a shrimp cocktail. Juicy steak and salmon for dinner. A side of wonderful macaroni and cheese. Different desserts of creme brulee, carrot cake, and chocolate souffle. Needless to say, my pencil skirt was feeling a little tight by the time we left!

The beginning to a great dinner

The beginning to a great dinner

Corn dogs have never looked so classy

Corn dogs have never looked so classy

I have a serious love for mac n cheese

I have a serious love for mac n cheese

At dinner on Friday

At dinner on Friday

Old Market

Old Market

After dinner, we felt the need to walk around a bit to help keep us from going into a food coma, so we drove over to Old Market. Old Market is probably one of the things I will miss most about Omaha. It reminds me of a more vintage Quarry and I love how different the stores and restaurants are. There’s one boutique my mom and I have loved going to over the years, so we had to go one last time for old time’s sake.

Once we left Old Market, Alex wanted us to all go to Krug Park for drinks with some of his friends and their families. It was pretty fun watching all of the guys and their dads interact together.

Manly men

Manly men

Saturday was graduation day. We let Alex do his own thing in the morning, so while Chip studied and my dad had breakfast with my grandma, my mom and I decided to go for a walk at a nearby park. I’m so very grateful for the one-on-one time I get with my mom since it doesn’t happen as often as I would like! The weather was great and we enjoyed being outside together, seeing some ducks along our walk.

Out for a walk

Out for a walk

Quack quack

Quack quack

We then made our way back to the hotel to get ready for graduation. The ceremony didn’t start until 1:00, but my parents wanted to make sure we got good seats, which means we walked in to the CenturyLink Center around 11:30.

With Chip before the graduation ceremony

With Chip before the graduation ceremony

I sadly don’t remember a whole lot from my Trinity graduation four years ago, but I thought the Creighton graduation was great. Each speaker did a great job and I was so impressed at how smoothly they called everyone up!

Alex walking in to graduation

Alex walking in to graduation

Creighton graduation

Creighton graduation

After graduation!

After graduation!

Two thumbs up for the college grad

Two thumbs up for the college grad

My dad and I were dressed like twinsies (kind of). This was our first attempt at taking a picture together.

My dad and I were dressed like twinsies (kind of). This was our first attempt at taking a picture together.

There we go, Lopez

There we go, Lopez

My grandma and mom with Alex

My grandma and mom with Alex

Love these guys

Love these guys

After we took the pictures above, we drove to Creighton’s campus for a few last pictures. Creighton’s campus is absolutely beautiful, check it out in the pictures below.

Happy parents

Happy parents

Good work, buddy

Good work, buddy

Proud family

Proud family

By the time we finished pictures, we were all pretty hungry so we made our way to dinner at Fleming’s. Once we ordered our food, we had Alex take some time to open all his graduation gifts. Once we ate and were getting ready to order dessert, Alex’s roommate Brandon joined us followed shortly by Teresa.

Sunday was a busy day. Alex had to be out of his dorms around 11:30 and like a good Lopez man, he still had most of his packing to do as of Sunday morning. My mom and grandma were helping him pack up his clothes and clean while my dad got the U-haul that they would be taking to Colorado on Tuesday. Soon, my dad, Chip, and I started making trips from the dorm across the street  to the U-Haul to get everything loaded up. And while Saturday had been a beautiful sunny day, we were dealing with some light rain on Sunday. Gross. Not my preferred type of weather while moving. We cut it pretty close, but Alex was ready to check out during his assigned time slot. He turned in his keys and left Creighton behind him!

Moving Alex’s stuff definitely brought out my appetite (and let’s be real, with that comes a level of crankiness) so we all went to Chipotle together before Chip and I flew back to San Antonio in the afternoon.

I’m so thankful that we were able to spend this weekend with my brother. Alex, I’m so proud of your hard work and am so excited for all that lies ahead of you! Now go kick some butt in Denver ;)

9 thoughts on “Alex’s Creighton Graduation

  1. Adria

    I really enjoyed reading your blog, it’s like being there with you & family. Loved all the pictures… when I saw the picture of you and Alex as kids, I went back in time…really miss those days! So proud to see how much you hold your brothers best interest at heart. I love you both so much, can only wish the best in the world for you and Alex. He will kick butt in Denver!!!

    Reply
  2. rmpomeroy

    I can’t believe Alex has graduated! I’m so glad you all got to enjoy this sweet time together in Omaha. We’ll likely be stopping overnight in Omaha on our way out to Denver too… you’ll have to give me all your hotel/restaurant recommendations!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Boston: Part 1 | the nance familia

  4. Pingback: Thankful For: Travel | the nance familia

  5. Pingback: Weekend in Denver | the nance familia

  6. Pingback: Twenty-four | the nance familia

Leave a Reply

