March Madness

Every year, my family gets into March Madness. Back when my brother and I were still in Tucson, we would all fill out our brackets one evening and leave them out in the kitchen for the duration of the tournament. Alex was usually the scorekeeper, highlighting our brackets whenever we called a game correctly. Now that we’re a bit more spread out, we rely on the wonders of email to keep this tradition going. And in true Lopez form, any competition wouldn’t be the same without a healthy dose of trash-talk, which kicked off nice and early. Between my dad and Chip, these emails would always make me laugh.

This year, March Madness was out of control. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good Cinderella story, but good grief. How many upsets were there?? Totes lost count. By the time the Sweet 16 round came along, I wasn’t even checking my bracket anymore considering my entire Western division was in shambles. Don’t even get me started on how many teams I actually had in the Elite Eight and Final Four. It was slightly embarrassing.

Now for the results… For the first time in three years, my dad was dethroned as champion. So no matter who else won, I’m sure the rest of us were pretty happy; my dad’s not exactly the most humble winner (it’s what makes him such a Lopez, am I right?). With Louisville winning the championship last night, we got to the final rankings below:

1st place: Alex. Nicely done, bro.

2nd place: ME. Guess picking certain teams based on uniform colors and mascots pays off every now and then.

3rd place: Chip (am I terrible wife for loving to beat Chip at any type of game?)

4th place: Mom

5th place: Dad. That’s right. Not only did my dad lose, he came in last place. Ouch.

As my mom put it, my brother was named king and I the bracket princess. Everyone else… peasants. ;) Here’s to March Madness 2014!

4 thoughts on “March Madness

  1. Denisse

    OMG! I was laughing reading this because I can totally see your dad. Good Job to Alex ..still laughing your dad came in 5th!!!!!!

    Reply
  2. Teresa

    Ale came up to me the other day trying to have me guess who won the family bracket. I guessed you.
    :)
    He was not at all happy with my lack of faith in him to win the family bracket! In my defense he does not ave the greatest track record.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

