Bossypants

I had always viewed Bossypants as a “cool” book before I ever purchased it. I mean come on, it’s Tina Fey. And with the way everyone was raving about it, I knew this was a book I would have to read. It took me a bit longer to finally come to this book than I would have expected, but we finally found each other in a quaint little bookstore (okay, it wasn’t quaint, it was in the Minneapolis airport after a long day of presentations).

Bossypants

Bossypants

One thing I really admired about this book was how much the voice truly felt like Tina Fey. No one else could have said these stories the same way she did. Heck, I read most of the book imaging her talking to me in this outfit and pose from Mean Girls. The stories in her book are great and will have you laughing along. Tina Fey is a comedic genius and it felt like a curtain was lifted to reveal on the entertainment industry, from growing up in Pennsylvania, to working on SNL with her Sarah Palin impressions, to launching her show 30 Rock. And let me tell you, working on SNL is hard core. No wonder only the best are a part of that show (and yes, that includes the different time Justin Timberlake has co-hosted).

Now, this may come as a shocker, but given the choice between this book and Mindy Kaling’s Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?, I’d pick Mindy’s. In the end, I felt like I related more to Mindy’s stories, or at least the childhood part. Also, the super goody two-shoes side of me was slightly surprised by the amount of cursing in Tina Fey’s book. I know. I’m 25 going on 9. However, both of these women will make you laugh, guaranteed, so if you can’t decide between these books just go ahead and read both.

3 thoughts on “Bossypants

  1. bekahmcneel

    I loved Bossypants! I listened to it in the car, read by Tina Fey, and I thought to myself, “Could anyone else read this convincingly?”
    Next I want to get the Mindy biography on audio book for an upcoming car trip. Funny ladies.

    Reply
  2. rmpomeroy

    I love Tina Fey’s comedy too, but I think I set my expectations too high for this book. It was good, but not as great as I hoped it would be. I bet Bekah’s route of hearing it in her own words was the way to go!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

