April Fool’s Day

I’m normally not a big fan of April Fool’s Day. I’ve just always been far too gullible of a person to appreciate this holiday. How gullible, you ask? Remember when you were in elementary school and people would pull the “did you know gullible is written on the ceiling?” joke? I was the one that would check the ceiling every time. Thankfully, my friends have been kind and I’ve never had any terrible April Fool’s Day joke played on me, but I hate tip-toeing around the day, trying to avoid any potential pranks.

As much as I hate April Fool’s Day, I do have a great memory associated with this silly holiday. Chip actually called my parents on April 1st three years ago to receive my their permission to ask me to marry him. It was completely unintentional for this serious conversation to take place on April Fools, but it definitely makes us look at this holiday with some warm and fuzzy feelings, which is much better than paranoia over a prank!

Flashback to three years ago… pictures from when we got engaged in May 2010!

Little puppy Wrigs - he was with us when we got engaged.

Little puppy Wrigs – he was with us when we got engaged.

Chip worked with my parents to have them in town for our engagement. It was so great getting to celebrate this special moment with them!

Chip worked with my parents to have them in town for our engagement. It was so great getting to celebrate this special moment with them!

Oh, hey, we're engaged!

Oh, hey, we’re engaged!

Out at dinner with my family celebrating our engagement

Out at dinner with my family celebrating our engagement

4 thoughts on “April Fool’s Day

  1. Yadira

    Have to admit I never use to care much for April fools day either but Chip changed that for us! Great to see pics from that special weekend too.

    Reply
  2. Jena Roach

    I love that it was so unintentional. My parents would have totally thought Grahm was joking :) Happy day-your-husband-asked-your-parents-for-your-hand-in-marriage day!

    Reply
    1. the nance familia Post author

      Haha thanks! Luckily, they knew it was coming and I’m pretty sure he started the convo along the lines of “I know it’s April Fools, but I swear I have something really important to talk about…” glad they took him seriously! ;)

      Reply
  3. rmpomeroy

    Ha – I totally forgot that Chip did that on April Fools! But I definitely remember the night you guys got engaged!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

