Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Let’s be real, I think we’ve all asked ourselves this question at some point or another (I know I have! And in the cases of junior high through high school, the answer was “mm yeah, probably”). This is the title of Mindy Kaling’s book and is one of the reasons why I had wanted to read it for so long. The way I saw it, with a title that clever, the rest of the book had to be good. After reading the book I can full-heartedly say the wits of Miss Kaling delivered, although I’m sure that’s not a surprise considering her writing skills on The Office. This was one of those few books that had me literally laughing out loud the entire time. I started reading this book on a flight to Minneapolis for a work trip and had to stop because I was laughing to myself so much that people were starting to look at me. So I stopped for a bit and resumed my reading on my return flight; didn’t want people to assume I was cray cray or anything.

I finished the book within a couple of days and recommend it to anyone who’s looking for a light, fun read. Her stories and humor are such a pick me up. From sharing about her chubby childhood, to high school friendships, to college plays and her move to New York (which included a play about Matt Damon and Ben Affleck that she co-wrote and starred in called Matt and Ben) and then LA with The Office, you’ll finish this book loving Mindy Kaling and wishing you could hang out and chat over a mojito or cosmo. On a more serious note, I could also really relate to her upbringing as a nerdy child of two hardworking immigrant parents and found myself cheering for her in her childhood stories. I’d like to think that if had we met in elementary school, we’d totes be BFF’s and ace group projects together. Right, Mindy?

I leave you with two of my favorite quotes from this book. Hopefully this is all the convincing you need to go pick up the book.

 “As it is, I guess I find “Jack and Diane” a little disgusting. As a child of immigrant professionals, I can’t help but notice the wasteful frivolity of it all. Why are these kids not at home doing their homework? Why aren’t they setting the table for dinner or helping out around the house? Who allows their kids to hang out in parking lots? Isn’t that loitering? I wish there was a song called “Nguyen and Ari,” a little ditty about a hardworking Vietnamese girl who helps her parents with the franchised Holiday Inn they run, and does homework in the lobby, and Ari, a hardworking Jewish boy who does volunteer work at his grandmother’s old-age home, and they meet after school at Princeton Review. They help each other study for the SATs and different AP courses, and then, after months of studying, and mountains of flashcards, they kiss chastely upon hearing the news that they both got into their top college choices.This is a song teens need to inadvertently memorize. Now that’s a song I’d request at Johnny Rockets!”
“Haley and I would talk for hours about which member of ‘N Sync we’d want to marry. After long deliberation, the answer was always J. C. Chasez. Joey Fatone’s last name was going to be “Fat One” no matter how great he was, and even though they didn’t know at their age that Lance Bass was gay outright, they sensed he’d make a better good friend and confidante. As for Justin Timberlake, well, JT was the coolest and hottest, but too flashy, so we couldn’t trust him to be faithful. J. C. Chasez was the smart compromise.”

One thought on “Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

  1. Yadira

    Enjoyed reading your take on this book. I had not heard of it but I can see why you liked it so much. Her opinion on the song “Jack and Diane” was pretty funny and the “mountains of flash cards” so made me think of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

