A weekend with my brother

I haven’t had a spring break in years. Four years, to be exact. While I normally get a little jealous while young college students get a week of freedom, this year I was grateful for this unofficial holiday since it allowed my brother to come visit for the weekend. I last saw Alex while we were in Tucson for Christmas and was pretty sure we wouldn’t be seeing him until his graduation in May. So when he called me a few weeks ago asking if he could come visit us in San Antonio, I said yes in a heartbeat. Not going to lie, it makes me feel a little cool that my 22-year old college senior brother wanted to use part of his last spring break to hang out with his sister.

The timing of his trip worked out really well. Chip was actually out of town most of this weekend, so I got some good one-on-one time with Alex for the first time in a few years (no offense to Chip, of course :)). Alex flew in from Omaha Friday night and after a quick stop at Target, we went to the house to feed him some dinner (whoa, had forgotten how much he can eat) and spend some time catching up.

Picking up Alex from the airport

Picking up Alex from the airport

Now last week had some awesome pre-spring weather, so I was looking forward to having a bit of a full outdoorsy day on Saturday. Then in true San Antonio form, the weather quickly changed… we may be in a drought, but of course the rain comes the weekend my brother is here. The original plan for Saturday was to take Wrigley to the dog park and walk around the trails there, drive to Austin and possibly do a small hike there, go to Shiner to tour the brewery and end the day at the Salt Lick in Driftwood. And then the weather looked more like this:

So rude. Needless to say, we had to change our plans. I also found out that the Shiner Brewery is actually closed on the weekends, so that was out of the plan as well. I know, I was shocked, too, who would have thought they would be close on weekends? So instead we took it easy Saturday morning and since the rain had actually stopped for a bit, we decided to take Wrigley on a quick walk in the neighborhood followed by breakfast at home.

We figured we could still go to The Salt Lick for lunch, the weather wouldn’t be able to stop us from some famous barbeque. We got in the car a little before 11:00 to head out to Driftwood, which is a little over an hour away. That may seem like a bit of a drive for some lunch, but if anyone would appreciate a good barbecue it would definitely be my carnivore brother. That and Alex really enjoys road trips of any kind, so the time in the car went by pretty fast between our conversations and the different Pandora stations Alex played for us.

We were a bit hungry, okay starving, by the time we got to The Salt Lick, but we lucked out and only had a 20 minute wait. I would definitely wait longer for their food if I had to. Saying it was delicious is an understatement. It was my first time there and I will definitely be going back with Chip since he’s actually never been there yet.

Alex had the four meat Rancher plate while I had the three meat Thurman’s Choice plate. They both came with potato salad, cole slaw and beans. And were followed by a hearty food coma. We had also brought some Shiner beer with us that we had bought at Target since we couldn’t go to the actual brewery. I was hoping we would have room for some cobbler, but it wasn’t possible. Alex even had to loosen his belt by a notch to account for all the food we had already eaten. So we decided to save the cobbler for the next time we go to Salt Lick, so Alex, feel free to book your flight whenever.

Alex with our (Target) Shiner beer

Alex with our (Target) Shiner beer

God bless Texas barbecue

God bless Texas barbecue

Yum yum yum

Yum yum yum

Once we got back into San Antonio (much quieter than we were on the way out haha), we made a quick stop at Trader Joe’s to pick up food to make for dinner. Since my brother likes cooking different pastas with his girlfriend Teresa, I thought it would be fun to make the pasta dish my mom and I made a few weeks ago. I think I may have over-cooked the pancetta slightly, but it was still really good and will definitely become a part of our dinner rotation. After dinner, my brother helped me make some snickerdoodle cookies to take to church on Sunday. With the cookies baking, we spent time watching the new season 3 episodes of Duck Dynasty. Happy, happy, happy.

I was pretty tired Saturday night, so I tried going to bed a little early while Alex watched a little more TV. Before I knew it, it was 1:00 in the morning and Wrigley was up in bed with me shaking. After a few seconds I realized that we were getting a pretty good storm with plenty of rain, thunder and lightning. For some reason, one of our living room windows leaks a little bit of water whenever we get a lot of rain, and since it sounded like it was coming down at a good rate, I decided to go quickly check on the window. I was worried about waking up Alex, but the night owl was still up and able to help me check out the window and lay out a towel. We both went to sleep pretty quickly after that, feeling a little tired in the morning thanks to Daylight Savings kicking in.

We had some breakfast, went to church and brought the snickerdoodles we had made the previous night to have after the service. It was great getting to introduce Alex to some of the different members at Redeemer, I think many of them were impressed by his beard. We then went to HEB to do the weekly grocery shopping before enjoying lunch at La Fogata. La Fogata is probably our favorite Mexican restaurant in town, so I thought it would be great to take Alex there since the Mexican food scene in Omaha is a bit lacking.

After lunch, we spent the rest of the day relaxing at the house. Chip got back home early in the afternoon and we all watched the end of the Creighton basketball game together, had a lasagna for dinner, watched a little more Duck Dynasty and played a game of Settlers of Catan. I also made another batch of cookies for the guys since we didn’t have any leftovers from Saturday’s batch.

Chip kicked our butts

Chip kicked our butts

More snickerdoodles

More snickerdoodles

I took Alex to the airport Monday morning on my way to work. It was a quick weekend, but I am so grateful for the time I got with my brother and look forward to (hopefully) having him visit more! For now, I look forward to seeing him again in May for his graduation from Creighton. And yes, I’m totally weirded out that my little brother will be a college graduate in just a couple of months. When did he become an adult? ;)

Until next time, bud

Until next time, bud

3 thoughts on “A weekend with my brother

  1. Jocelyn

    Love this whole blog. Was totally teary eyed the whole time reading it. Hope someday Sof is as wonderful to Judah as you are to Ale and vice versa :]]
    PS-totally craving BBQ now.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: La Sagrada Familia | The Nance Familia

Leave a Reply

