February visit

We just wrapped up a great weekend with my parents and my heart is so very full. I am so grateful that we’re getting to see them more outside of just regular holiday trips! These more frequent visits definitely make the 800-plus miles between us a bit more manageable. My parents flew in this past Thursday afternoon so we met them after work for a Valentine’s double date. After brainstorming some of our favorite restaurants for dinner throughout the last week, we decided we would go to Paloma Blanca; while my mom had been there once before with us during a wedding planning trip a couple years ago, my dad hadn’t experienced their tasty food yet. Fun story about Paloma Blanca: Chip and I actually had our very first date on Valentine’s Day 2007 and he had intended for us to go to Paloma Blanca together. He went to the restaurant the week before to talk to the seating hostess and see if he should make reservations for the two of us. She told him not to worry, we shouldn’t have a problem at all getting a table that night. Fast forward a few days later to our first date. We walk into the restaurant and it really couldn’t be any more full. We squeeze our way towards the seating hostess and ask for a table for two… she tells us the wait is three hours. Needless to say we didn’t get to eat dinner there that night, but instead eventually made our way over to a great dinner at Paesano’s. With this story in the back of our minds, we made it a point to not only make reservations for this past Thursday, but to also call and confirm, just in case. Thankfully there were no snags in the evening and we enjoyed a great dinner together.

Friday morning, my parents came over to the house for breakfast before we split up for the day. The guys would be going golfing while my mom and I would get some shopping done. If you’re seeing a pattern in our time spent with my family, it usually involves golfing and shopping at some point! My dad and Chip were joined by our friends Matt and Curtis and had a great time at La Cantera’s Palmer Course.

The Palmer Course

Great day for golfing!

Dad enjoying the golf course

Dad enjoying the golf course

While the boys were away, my mom and I were significantly productive with our time. We started out at Home Goods (where we got some awesome garden pots on sale!), browsed Kirklands, enjoyed a President’s Day sale at World Market, and then made our way over to La Cantera. We were enjoying some easy and relaxing shopping at Anthropologie, Williams-Sonoma and Nordstrom, but the day was made during our time at J.Crew. When we first started shopping on Friday, I was hoping to find a dress for our friends Riley and Becca’s wedding this coming May, but we weren’t having much luck. So we went into J.Crew with few expectations, but that’s when we met Tucker, one of the store’s stylists. Let me tell you, Tucker knows J.Crew’s inventory perfectly. He put together such great outfits and any little suggestion he made polished everything up. Thanks to his help, we not only found a dress for our friends’ wedding, but also for my brother’s college graduation, my cousin’s daughter’s baptism and any other events that come up for us in the next few months! I feel like our experience at J.Crew with Tucker is what people on What Not to Wear feel when they shop with Stacy and Clinton. I loved it.

We all decided to have some fish tacos at home for dinner, so after leaving La Cantera in the best of spirits, my mom and I stopped by HEB to get all the necessary ingredients. I’m a big fan of a mango salsa we’ve made a couple of times now, so check out the recipe at the bottom of this post if you’re interested. After dinner, my parents hung out with us for a bit while we played Spades (thanks, Matt, for teaching us how to play!). Like any other game we play with my family, my dad tried pushing the different rules to the limits and kept us all laughing (and shaking our heads) throughout the game.

Fish taco time

Fish taco time

Saturday was a very full day in Fredericksburg, so stay tuned for more on our day there!

Mango Salsa Recipe: (modified from Simply Recipes)

Ingredients:

  • 1 ripe mango, peeled, pitted and diced
  • 1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tbsp fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
  • 3 tbsp fresh lime juice
  • 3 tbsp diced red cabbage
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “February visit

  1. rmpomeroy

    I had totally forgotten that you guys had originally planned to go to Paloma Blanca on your first date! You’re making me crave one of their margaritas right now! :)

    Reply
  2. Yadira

    We sure know how to jam pack activities into a weekend. Great time dining, shopping and laughing at our competitive spirit playing Spades!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

