The big 22

Today’s is my brother’s 22nd birthday. Having him turn 21 was a big deal to me; now 22 is solidifying him as an adult in my mind. I have to admit, this is a little hard for me to process. I think a part of me will always see him as a goofy 16 year old that lounges around the house in flannel shirts, basketball shorts and his black Nike socks (he’s quite the fashion stud…). A part of me is also coming to recognize the man he is becoming. Sure, he looks like a man with his mountain beard and tall physique (most strangers think he’s older than me… rude), but what’s made me most proud is to see him mature over the last couple of years and take on more responsibility. Don’t worry, he can still be a complete fool, but I’m excited to see this maturing process continue and all that this year has in store for him.

Happy birthday, bro. I sure do love you a lot.

I love my little brother

I love my little brother

Alex has always had a flair for dramatic backyard games

Alex has always had a flair for dramatic backyard games

One of my most favorite pictures from our childhood

One of my most favorite pictures from our childhood

2 thoughts on “The big 22

Leave a Reply

