Fun and Chaos in the Nance Household

This last weekend was… interesting… it was the strangest mix of fun moments and times of chaos! Alright, “chaos” might be a bit of a stretch, but wait to hear about all of the events first before you judge…

Fun: Friday afternoon, two of my co-workers Priscilla and Annaliz came over for some girl time. Since we’re now in December and I’m obsessed with Christmas, this meant baking and decorating holiday cookies, watching Elf and having a champagne drink called The Poinsettia. Priscilla stayed for dinner for some homemade pizza and then an evening at Trinity for the annual Christmas Concert. All in all, a great day!

Cookbooks for the afternoon

Cookbooks for the afternoon

Christmas sugar cookies

Christmas sugar cookies

Ready to decorate some sugar cookies

Ready to decorate some sugar cookies

Trinity Christmas Concert

Trinity Christmas Concert

Priscilla and I enjoying the concert

Priscilla and I enjoying the concert

The best seats we've ever had for the Christmas concert

The best seats we’ve ever had for the Christmas concert

One of my favorite parts to the concert - the audience sing alongs

One of my favorite parts to the concert – the audience sing alongs

Fun: Chip and I started Saturday off with some time at the gym. It wasn’t completely fun the whole time (I was pretty worn out by the end!), but we enjoy going to the gym together whenever we can to encourage each other. For our breakfast afterwards, I thought it would be fun to make some homemade blueberry pancakes together for the first time (my cookbook Healthy in a Hurry had a really good recipe I had been wanting to try out). Chip decided to add to our breakfast with some eggs and bacon. Our own brunch feast!

Chaos: We have a smoke detector right outside our kitchen. Yes, it goes off occasionally. No, we’ve never actually had a fire or seriously burnt anything, but it will go off every now and then. We’ve learned that if one of us fans it quickly with a kitchen towel, it will stop its screeching within a few seconds. Now one thing to know about Chip is that he has (strangely) sensitive ears, resulting in an apparently rather unbearable situation for him whenever the smoke detector goes off. So when it went off not once, not twice, but multiple times in a span of 5 minutes Saturday morning, he lost his cool. I love my husband dearly, but I couldn’t help but laugh at how funny I thought he was being over the smoke detectors (he thought his behavior was mostly justified). All I can say is, Chip deserves an Oscar nomination for how dramatic he was being and Wrigley would receive the supporting role nomination. Our smoke detectors were going off and Chip was saying things like “Those detectors clearly don’t work, there’s no smoke, I’ll save our lives when I see smoke,” “Breakfast is ruined, I don’t even want to eat now” and one of my favorites “This isn’t a kitchen, it’s a room of destruction.” Now while Chip was waiting for his Academy Award, the high-pitched noise was also too much for Wrigley too bear, although that’s a bit more understandable since I’m sure that sound was piercing his giant bat-like ears. Wrigley has developed a habit of doing things he knows are bad whenever he’s unhappy and being scared is a great example of a time he’s unhappy. So when I went to open the backdoor to see if that would help our smoke detector calm down, Wrigley ran out with one of our shoes, shaking it around in frustration in the backyard and running around like a fool. Thanks, Wrigs. To make matters worse, the smoke detectors across the house by our bedroom also started to go off, so we had to tag time fanning the different detectors to shut them up. We then turned on every fan in the house and shut off all of the stovetop burners as well as the toaster oven that was cooking the bacon and waited for whatever small smoke signals to clear off. I then slowly and carefully finished cooking breakfast which Chip sat in the living room with Wrigley, complaining over the finicky smoke detectors. Thankfully both Chip and Wrigley were much happier without the loud beeping and some blueberry pancakes and bacon in their stomachs.

Fun: Saturday was the Tamale Festival at the Pearl Brewery. We had never been before, but had heard great things about all of the food. We also thought it would be fun to take Wrigley along with us for the afternoon (such a spoiled pup getting some pancakes, bacon and tamales in one day!). It didn’t take us long to try out several different kinds of tamales as well as a tres leches cupcake and a bean and cheese cup. We were feeling pretty full and needed a break in the eating before returning to more of the booths. I saw a patch of grass and thought it would be fun for us to just hang out there with Wrigley for a little bit and that’s when chaos struck again…

Chaos: Immediately after sitting down next to Wrigley, he starts sniffing around and being the little alpha-male that he is, he lifts his leg to mark his territory on the grass… a bit too close to me! I won’t go into any further details here, but needless to say, I wanted to go home afterward.

Mariachis at the tamale festival

Mariachis at the tamale festival

One word: yum

One word: yum

Lots of people at the tamale festival

Lots of people at the tamale festival

Wrigley really liked the tamales

Wrigley really liked the tamales

Fun: We spent the rest of Saturday afternoon running some errands (including buying a super cute dress for the Redeemer Christmas party on Sunday!) and came home to finish up our homemade pizza for dinner. While having dinner, we spent who knows how much time watching episodes of Duck Dynasty. We really can’t get enough of this show! My personal favorite Robertson is Jase, although Si does keep things entertaining.

Chaos: While getting ready for church Sunday morning, I just about had a panic attack… I found my first gray hair. I am not exaggerating when I say I came storming into the kitchen where Chip was making breakfast and asked him if he saw a gray hair. After pulling it from my head, he tried hiding it from me but I eventually got the proof. I shouldn’t be too surprised, my dad’s side of the family gets gray hair pretty early, but I didn’t think it would be this early! If you ask me, 25 is too young for that. I then spent the rest of the morning utilizing one of my other Lopez genes – being completely dramatic (I started planning my early retirement… this is clearly the end! :)).

Fun: Sunday evening was the Redeemer Christmas party! We joined some of the other Young Professionals at the church for some appetizers and wine before making our way for the dinner and dancing at the Westin Riverwalk. We had been to the Redeemer Christmas party twice before, but as guests of the Pomeroys and Behams, so this was our first time as official members of the church… woo! We had a great time and can’t wait to go again next year!

Ready for the Christmas party!

Ready for the Christmas party!

At the Westin Riverwalk

At the Westin Riverwalk

Place setting for dinner

Place setting for dinner

And that was the end of our weekend… Fun: 5. Chaos: 3. Fun wins.

3 thoughts on “Fun and Chaos in the Nance Household

  1. Adria

    I loved your story and just so many things going on, too funny!! But please remember that each grey hair means “Great Wisdom” You’re a wonderful niece and so proud of you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

