Our first anniversary

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.- 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

I married my best friend a year ago today. These past 366 days (remember, it was a leap year!) have flown by and have been so incredibly special. This year has made me very grateful for the covenant of marriage and I feel so blessed that I get to spend the rest of my life with Chip. We were both a little anxious about the first year of marriage, hearing people say that it can sometimes be the hardest year a couple experiences. Fortunately we’ve been blessed and our friendship and love has only grown deeper for each other as we continue to pursue Christ together. We have been so grateful for the way God continuously works in our hearts to help us become a better husband and wife to each other. I don’t want this post to get overly mushy, so all I want to say is thanks, Chip, for a wonderful first year. Thank you for all the laughs, conversations, house projects, patience, hours spent watching Downton Abbey and all the ways you encourage me to be a better person and a better spouse. More importantly, thank you, Lord, for being with us every step of the way and being the perfect example of sacrificial love.

In honor of our first anniversary, here are some memorable pictures from our first year as husband and wife as well as some of my favorite pictures from our wedding day (there are lots!) :) Hope you enjoy them! Also, keep an eye out for my next post on our anniversary celebrations, which includes a trip to Fredericksburg!

In Barcelona the first day of our honeymoon

Ready to board the cruise for our honeymoon!

In Rome on our honeymoon

In Croatia on our honeymoon

In Venice on our honeymoon. Definitely one of our favorite cities!

At a housewarming party for some sweet RUF girls

In Arizona on Thanksgiving

Out on the River Walk, checking out the Christmas lights

Our first family Christmas card picture

In California

May 7, 2011:

Chip with his groomsmen outside the Westin Downtown

Love him

Bunch of goofs

With my mom at the Westin Downtown

Ready in my dress and veil

With some of the sweetest girls I’ve ever known

With my dad before the ceremony

The guys praying over Chip before the ceremony

Married!!

With our parents after the ceremony

First dance to George Strait’s “Carried Away”

Taking a quick break from dancing

Family and friends ready for cake

Grease megamix with my bridesmaids

Flutterfetti madness after our last dance to Bruno Mars’ “Just the Way You Are”

Flutterfetti!!

7 thoughts on “Our first anniversary

  1. Yadira

    Happy Anniversary to you both!!!! Just loved looking at the pictures from your first year together. Here’s to a day full of joyful memories and many blessings.
    Love ya,
    Mom and Dad

    Reply
  2. jandeclement

    Jessica,
    I just miss you and looking at these pictures made me so happy. We are coming to San Antonio on June 2-8! We have to see you!!!
    Happy Anniversary!! Love y’all, Elizabeth & Justin

    Reply
  3. rmpomeroy

    So wonderful to reflect on your first year of marriage – congratulations! I was talking to my parents on the phone last night and we were saying how your wedding was such a great time. I can’t wait to hear about your Fredricksburg trip – I bet it was amazing!!

    Reply
  4. Adria

    Loved reading your blog, the pictures are amazing and the memories are as if your wedding was yesterday. Happy 1st !!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Anniversary weekend! « the nance familia

  6. Pingback: Mom’s visit to San Antonio! « the nance familia

Leave a Reply

