Weekend visit

I am so glad my parents were able to come visit us for a quick trip last weekend. We hadn’t seen them since our surprise visit to California back in January, so I was definitely more than ready to have some time with my parents. They got in last Saturday around noon after spending a couple of days in Omaha visiting my brother during his spring break. It means a lot to me that my parents are able to come see both my brother and I, even if it means a little less time with both of us individually as well as additional plane tickets. I’m pretty sure my brother and I would have an intense competition if my parents could only visit us one at a time :)

Since my parents would only be in San Antonio for about 30something hours, we didn’t plan too much for us to do but just hang out together. Well, that and the weather was slightly crummy last Saturday which forced us to stay indoors… it was in the 40s and with a light drizzle throughout most of the day… my least favorite kind of weather. So after a yummy lunch at Papouli’s in the Quarry, we spent a few hours just hanging out in our house. My parents hadn’t seen our home since the summer, so Chip and I proudly showed them the little things we’ve done since then, from decorating the living room to (finally) cleaning out the back room. My parents were also able to meet our foster dog, Duke, who warmed up to them quickly and was much more social than I could have expected (good job, Duke!).

After hours of conversation about everything from life in San Antonio to visions for our backyard to overpaid professional athletes (word of caution to those who know my mom… never bring this up around her unless you want to hear her opinion on it for 20 minutes :)) we made our way over to Dough for dinner. Dough is one of our favorite restaurants here in San Antonio. It’s so good! One of the only downsides to this restaurant is the waiting time since it’s so popular. By the time we got there, we were told it would be a good hour to hour and a half wait before we would be seated (I may or may not have thrown a little fit about this… don’t judge). Dough is currently working to expand their space which will hopefully help shorten this wait and allow them to serve more people at once. I’m definitely waiting eagerly for this to be completed!

We had been to Dough once before with my parents and since we all love this place we stuck the wait out. We were also sharing a very special bottle of wine, one that Chip and I bought on our honeymoon in Italy, and Dough was one place we knew where we could bring our own bottle. It was a delicious red wine that accompanied our meal perfectly. Even my mom who prefers white wines finished her glass of this red wine. Not sure if I’ve ever seen that happen before!

A fun fact about this bottle of wine: it was made in 2007. We got a kick out of this since that’s the year Chip and I met, so it’s like we were meant to have this bottle. :)

Waiting for our table at Dough

On Sunday, we took my parents with us to church at Redeemer Presbyterian Church. Chip and I have been going there since around October and really appreciate the community of this church and its focus on the Gospel. I was excited for my parents to come to the service with us so they could meet some of the people that have been impacting us for the past several months. After the service, we went to Urban Taco for lunch with Matt and Haley, some of our closest friends here in San Antonio. We love Matt and Haley and the way they live so honestly. I was glad that my parents were able to meet them and we were able to spend lunch talking and laughing together over delicious street tacos.

After lunch, we stopped by Matt and Haley’s house quickly to pick up some tools. Now with all the rain we had gotten the last month or so, a couple of doors in our house weren’t closing well with the shifting foundation. So with my dad’s help and Matt and Haley’s tools, Chip was able to sand these doors down and get them to shut properly again. I’m thankful that my dad has become so handy over the years; he usually teaches us something whenever they’re in town!

By the time the doors were fixed it was time to drop my parents off at the airport. The weekend went by so quickly and it already feels like it’s been much longer since they were here. But it was a great weekend and we’ve learned to be so grateful for quick trips like these. I know I’m already looking forward to their next visit, whenever that may be :)

4 thoughts on “Weekend visit

  1. Yadira

    Even though it was a short visit we had so much fun! It was great to meet Duke, lucky for the person who adopts this gentle loving dog. Loved Dough and what a great Italin red wine.
    So enjoyed our time together

    :)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Mom’s visit to San Antonio! « the nance familia

Leave a Reply

