Happy Thanksgiving!

“Reflect upon your present blessings, of which every man has many — not on your past misfortunes, of which all men have some.”  – Charles Dickens

I am so thankful for all I have been blessed with. I am thankful to be married to my best friend. Thankful that we have been blessed with jobs. Thankful that we have the love of a crazy dog. Thankful for my ever-giving family. Thankful for my friendships and the joy they bring to my life.

This Thanksgiving I was especially thankful to be with my parents, brother and grandparents in Arizona. Living in Texas means I don’t get to see them anywhere near as often as I would like, so to say I was excited for our three days in Tucson is an understatement. Chip and I flew in to Tucson on Wednesday night, and like good Hispanics, my whole family was there to pick us up. After sleeping in a little Thursday morning, it was time to get to work. For the men, this meant fulfilling a Thanksgiving tradition by going to play a round of golf. For the women, it meant watching some of the Thanksgiving day parade while getting busy in the kitchen. Over the years, I’ve helped my mom in different ways in the kitchen, but it was usually centered on getting the table set, peeling the potatoes and taking care of a pie. This year I was able to do so much more with my mom and am so grateful for all the hours we spent together in the kitchen. For the first time, all of the Thanksgiving desserts were mine. I’ve grown to really enjoy baking so I was pretty excited for this! By the end of the morning, our chocolate pecan pie, pumpkin pie and chocolate crackle cookies were ready to go. Yum! :) The dinner menu consisted of turkey, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, stuffing, baked vegetable dish, cranberries and salad. Needless to say, our plates were very full! Here are some pictures before our meal…

Thanksgiving Table

My dad "helping" with the meal after a round of golf

Family picture!

Shortly after Chip and I got married, my grandparents moved from Florida back to Tucson. I am so thankful that I will now get to see them more frequently. Whereas before I would see them maybe once every year or two, I’m glad that I will now see them more often and Chip will get to know them better over our trips to Arizona. It really was special getting to spend the holiday weekend with them! As for Chip, he got his fill by playing dominoes with my  very Cuban grandfather :)

On Friday (after getting a much needed haircut… big thanks to Michelle at Wild Orchids for a wonderful haircut!), we had a relaxing dinner with some close family friends – Doris, a nurse my mom has worked with for many years, and the Morgans. They are all such good, loving people and it was a joy catching up with them over a tasty dinner followed by a Christmas show at the Gaslight Theater.

Chip and I before dinner on Friday

With our good friend, Doris

At the Gaslight Theater

Saturday found the boys playing golf once more while my mom and I did some shopping (always a favorite highlight of mine whenever my mom and I are together :)) before spending the afternoon and evening together with my grandparents. It was then back to San Antonio early Sunday morning to pick up Wrigley from his weekend boarding and prepare for the work week.

We had such a wonderful weekend in Tucson and hope to be back there with family soon! Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. rmpomeroy

    I was hoping you guys might get to spend some time in Tucson for Thanksgiving! So happy that it was such a great weekend! And ditto on having more responsibilities in the kitchen this year – I got to stick my hands all up in a turkey this year, ha!

    Reply
  2. Yadira

    It was so wonderful to have you and Chip come visit and I so LOVED your chocolate crackle cookies!!! Wow they were delicious! Could not have pulled off Thanksgiving without your help in the kitchen even though your dad tried to “help” . By the way he says he will be having Starbucks :)

    Reply
  3. Manny

    I so enjoyed getting us all together and getting to play some golf! The weather was perfect for our game. When is the rematch?

    Reply
  4. Adria Espalter

    Loved reading all about Thanksgiving! Pictures were also great, I do miss that!!
    What is your mom talking about “CHOCOLATE CRACKLE COOKIES” I don’t want the recepi, just bake and mail them to me next day!
    I just want you to know how happy I am for both you and Chip. A blessing for your parents to have all of you over. “A La Familia”
    How about some Red Cat??????

    Reply

Leave a Reply

