Chronic Christmas Lover

My name is Jessica and I am obsessed with Christmas. I love absolutely anything and everything to do with Christmas (although I could do without the crowded malls and stores…). Christmas music is already on my Pandora station as well as my iPod playlists. Chip and I have chosen the spot where we’ll put the Christmas tree in our house. Our Yankee Candle Mistletoe candle is already lit.
Today, I asked Chip when it would be appropriate to watch Elf, one of my all-time favorite Christmas movies (I was told it’s not allowed until after Thanksgiving. Lame.). It’s not that I want Christmas to be here faster, I just think it’s one of the best times of the year; therefore, we should celebrate it as long as possible, which may or not mean that I was sneaking Christmas music into my iPod and Pandora playlists before Halloween. Because of this, my kind husband recommended I start the Chronic Christmas Lovers club. I like it.

Now that it’s November and more “acceptable” to start thinking about Christmas, we did a few holiday activities today. After having a hearty breakfast at Magnolia’s Pancake Haus, we spent a couple of hours at Clay Casa painting ornaments. Sounds super cute, right? I painted a chubby, little snowman and a tree ornament while Chip painted a tree ornament as well as a wreath ornament.
We’ll see how these items actually turn out… we had fun, although neither of us would call ourselves artists.

Snowman ready to be painted!

We were also hoping to each paint a large ornament (you can see them in the background of the snowman picture above), but those smaller items wore us out and we were intimidated by the serious painters working on their Santa replicas and detailed pieces. We felt like such amateurs there! :)

Ready to paint!

Chip hard at work on his tree ornament

Afterwards, we spent some time at HomeGoods, stocking up on Christmas ornaments and wrapping paper. I felt like a kid in a candy store at HomeGoods… there were ornaments, decorations and Christmas serveware everywhere. It was beautiful. :)

One of the beautiful aisles at Home Goods

More Christmas decor!

We also went to Michael’s aftewards looking for some scrapbook paper for our wedding album and instead found a couple of other sets of Christmas ornaments. With today’s shopping, we should be set for when we get our Christmas tree next month! Now, everyone, go do yourself a favor and crank up that NSYNC “Home for Christmas” album you all should have… :)

6 thoughts on “Chronic Christmas Lover

  1. Jocelyn Mesiti

    :] This makes me so happy! I know exactly how you feel. I have been listening to Christmas music since September (officially on the first day it feels “chilly”). David also restricts me from certain things that have to wait until after Thanksgiving, but my tree is one thing that always goes up before the Turkey gets eaten :]
    Honestly, if I had a million dollars, I wouldn’t even buy clothes or shoes, I would totally be running all around town to get Christmas everything. It’s a scary addiction!!!!
    And, NSYNC will always be in my heart at Christmas :]
    Looks like you and Chip had an awesome time being artsy married folk!!
    Loved this blog! Miss you!

    Reply
  2. rmpomeroy

    I had never heard of Homegoods until we moved up to Chicago – we’ve yet to go but it looks like a fantastical place! Your house is going to look so wonderful decorated for Christmas! You have to post pictures once everything is up!

    Reply
  3. Yadira

    I love that you have always been “obsessed with Christmas” and how fun to paint ornaments together. So happy you got to go to Home Goods to get some Christmas ornaments too. They have such great prices but it’s hard to not buy a cart full of things for your home!

    “Us elves like to stick to the four main food groups. Candy, candy canes, candy corns and syrup” I agree, Elf is a wonderful Christmas movie!

    Reply
  4. Manny

    I am so happy to see you both getting creative with ornaments and getting ready for Christmas. I can tell you that the first time I went to Home Goods, I was there for hours.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Clay Casa Finished Products « the nance familia

  6. Pingback: O, Christmas Tree! O, Christmas Tree! « the nance familia

Leave a Reply

